Electrical company

Do you have a query about moving to Andalucia and buying property in Andalucia. Find out by posting questions and reading about other peoples experiences.
Stalvik
Tourist
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:38 am
Location: Martos

Electrical company

Postby Stalvik » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:41 pm

We bought our house in December and have been spending some time there in January. I just got an email from our lawyer who says that the electrical company needs to get into our house to check the wires before they can transfer the contract from the old owners to us. Has anyone heard of this before? The box to read the electricity is outside the house. Why would they need to check the wires inside the house?

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6798
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Electrical company

Postby gerryh » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:58 pm

They want to check that the house wiring, switches, sockets, fuse board etc meet the current standards.
Unless it is a fairly new house then it possibly might not meet the current standards.
It could be costly, for you, to get the wiring etc changed to meet the standards.
Who is "the electrical company"? Never heard of a case where they have required an inspection for a change of owner/ bill payer.
Perhaps they have decided that there are lot of older properties with often very dubious wiring etc. and a change of contract, for whatever reason, is a good excuse to check the wiring etc.
It is normal practice if you want a potencia, (the maximum amount of power), change.
Cheers
Gerry
Last edited by gerryh on Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gerry Harris

ajtg1952
Resident
Posts: 1612
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Concas, Los Ventorros de Comares

Re: Electrical company

Postby ajtg1952 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 3:59 pm

My friend, who lives in Martos has very poor wiring in his house. When the electricity was reconnected they would only permit 110 volts. Only time I've ever heard of this but I'm some others may have.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7908
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: Electrical company

Postby Enrique » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:09 pm

Hi,
Confused here..... :?
"When the electricity was reconnected they would only permit 110 volts".......... :?:
Would have thought they would Supply 230volt but restrict it to 3.3Kw i.e. 15 Amp
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

ajtg1952
Resident
Posts: 1612
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2009 3:11 pm
Location: Concas, Los Ventorros de Comares

Re: Electrical company

Postby ajtg1952 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:31 pm

Definitely 110V. He runs his fridge off an inverter. Most of the wiring is bell wire.

User avatar
Enrique
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7908
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:47 am
Location: Camberley/Alcala La Real

Re: Electrical company

Postby Enrique » Mon Jan 29, 2018 4:34 pm

Thanks for that........ had seen better wiring in a Dolls House than our original setup.......had to rewire .
UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity.

User avatar
costakid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 3671
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 11:55 am
Location: malaga este

Re: Electrical company

Postby costakid » Mon Jan 29, 2018 6:27 pm

or most likely to make sure you fuses haven’t been tampered with to stop tripping..

User avatar
chrissiehope
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 3217
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 7:52 pm
Location: Cheshire & near Antequera

Re: Electrical company

Postby chrissiehope » Mon Jan 29, 2018 11:57 pm

I think I've heard that when ownership changes, a new boletin is required if the old one is past a certain age ?
Alexandr for President (Squire for PM !)

Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend.
Inside of a dog it's too dark to read (Groucho Marx)

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 13842
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Electrical company

Postby El Cid » Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:28 am

Which is why, in many of those cases, the new user leaves the contract in the previous name and just changes the bank details!

Sid

Stalvik
Tourist
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:38 am
Location: Martos

Re: Electrical company

Postby Stalvik » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:26 pm

Thanks!

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 3049
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Electrical company

Postby Wicksey » Tue Jan 30, 2018 2:16 pm

chrissiehope wrote:I think I've heard that when ownership changes, a new boletin is required if the old one is past a certain age ?

That was the case when we bought. The house was only 11 years old and the previous owners bought it about 5 years earlier but we needed a Boletin before we could change the contract into our name.

wollie
Resident
Posts: 751
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2014 8:53 pm

Re: Electrical company

Postby wollie » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:52 pm

It appears from your post you instructed your lawyer to change the name on the utility bills. If this is the case it be regarded as new customer/connection so the electric company opportunity to upgrade to current standards.


Return to “Moving to Andalucia”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests