Selling English cars

Do you have a query on how to get things done in Andalucia, where to find things, who to call? Find out by posting and hear about others experiences.
pirate
Andalucia.com Amigo

Selling English cars

Postby pirate » Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:26 pm

Hi,

We`ve decided to buy an older cheapish vehicle 4x4 just to get us over, whats the chances of selling it when we get there, it wont be a wreck, but it wont be expensive, or would it be possible to scrap it there without too much hastle?
cheers
Snot me, stwiscki

Campo Kenny

Postby Campo Kenny » Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:28 pm

It will sell in no time.....if it's priced below its Spanish equivelents

Heston
Resident

second hanbd car

Postby Heston » Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:47 pm

quite a few people on the costas make a living from selling them on quite a big market
x

Retro P
Resident

Postby Retro P » Sat Mar 17, 2007 11:12 am

Pirate, Im not an expert on cars but I will give you my opinion based on time spent in the Marbella area in the last twenty years, if you're planning to bring ANY english car here follow these hints:
the car should be not older that 7/8 years old, make sure you have a full years mot and tax, and make sure it's not a total heap.

The problem with bringing english cars to Spain and numerous, you would need to re-register it in Spain as you cannot tax or mot it here otherwise, you cannot legally insure ( no matter what anyone tells you) a british registered car here (legally) so any potential buyer would be looking at these points closely.

I know it's tempting to bring all your stuff here in your own vehicle because you save money but in the long run you don't.

I would always advise anyone moving here for a lengthy period to buy a Spanish registered car, you'll find it much easier in the long run, no doubt other posters will have a different view on this but the legalities I mentioned are factual and correct, good luck with your move!
Ah! the full english!!

spanish_lad
Andalucia Guru