Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7799
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby markwilding » Fri Apr 19, 2024 8:06 pm

Channel 4 has now been added to the EPG on the Fire TV so now it has all the ITV,C4 & C5 channel plus others.
Only BBC to go and the full traditional free to air channels will be on the EPG. To access it easily, press the TV logo button on the remote.

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5928
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Wicksey » Sat Apr 20, 2024 10:01 am

I've only got the CH4 ones on the EPG. I'm sure I had ITV before but cannot get anything apart from the CH4 and the Spanish channels through the RTVE app. I cannot see how to add any other live channels to the TV guide.

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7799
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby markwilding » Sat Apr 20, 2024 1:40 pm

All mine working fine. Anyone needing a Spanish TV Freeview type app due to lack of a terrestrial signal with EPG and the possibility to change audio, then have a look at the Tivify app. You will need to create an account and chose the free option.

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5928
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Wicksey » Sat Apr 20, 2024 1:46 pm

I can't remember why I installed the Spanish TV app. Sometimes the signal isn't good here and we like to watch the weather so that maybe it, but I've uninstalled them now. I can't understand why the other UK TV apps are not showing on the EPG though. I have updated the Firestick but only CH4 is listed.

I've looked at Youtube tutorials but the other UK channels are not there to be able to sync them and add them to the guide, so not sure why that is and why ITV that used to be there has disappeared.

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4534
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby olive » Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:16 pm

Just itv options and channel4 options eg 4, 4e, 4 film and 4 more on ours No 5 . That is in apps home page.

Never pressed that button on ours before!

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8058
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby gerryh » Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:17 pm

Go off the original topic but still, Channel 4 related.
Just created an account, with a UK address, for Channel 4 on my Firestick.
When I try to watch a programme get the message that it is geo-locked.
Can watch BBC iPlayer and ITVX OK.
The odd thing is I can watch Channel 4 on my PC.
I'm using SmartDNS Proxy for all my internet connections.

Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7799
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby markwilding » Sun Apr 21, 2024 7:50 am

Channel 4 doesn’t work if your time is on Spanish time. Change to UK time in settings and it should work.
Last edited by markwilding on Sun Apr 21, 2024 10:11 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8058
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby gerryh » Sun Apr 21, 2024 8:42 am

Yes, that's done it. :wave: :thumbup: :wave:
Many thanks
Gerry
Gerry Harris

markwilding
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 7799
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:02 am
Location: Bilbao Spain

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby markwilding » Sun Apr 21, 2024 10:08 am

Gerry,
You have previously posted that you don’t have particularly fast speeds.
How good is your viewing on the firestick with those speeds?

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5928
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Wicksey » Sun Apr 21, 2024 2:45 pm

Also slightly off topic, I have been trying to install the smartproxydns into the Firestick without any luck.
https://support.smartdnsproxy.com/artic ... -dns-proxy
I have followed the instructions to use ipconfig to obtain my router IP address and used the default gateway, substituting the final figure for 70. It does come up, greyed out, on the Firestick as I follow the step by step instructions as well.
I've tried allsorts but it just ends up saying no connection when I get to the end of the instructions.

Edit: I had one more go and for some reason it has now worked, not sure how or why :roll: :lol:

User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8058
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby gerryh » Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:07 pm

markwilding wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 10:08 am Gerry,
You have previously posted that you don’t have particularly fast speeds.
How good is your viewing on the firestick with those speeds?
Did a check about 1 hour ago.
Firestick shows a speed of 40.15Mbps.
Watched the Chinese F1, with fast forwarding, OK.
Sometimes get lower speeds and buffering and often get a "something gone wrong" message after a lot of buffering.
But don't have any choice for watching TV other than a 4G connection now that i907 has ended.
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5928
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Wicksey » Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:21 pm

That's fast Gerry. Ours is about 10 - 14 Mbps usually and we rarely get any buffering. Do none of the Wimax companies cover your area, Fobos or Axartel for example?

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16112
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby El Cid » Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:46 pm

Gerry, that's not a bad speed. Before we got fibre we had a line of sight system with Radiokable and it was about that speed all the time. It was OK for up to 4K on Netflix without undue buffering.

Incidentally, the other day, Telefonica closed down all their ADSL systems in Spain.

Sid

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4534
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby olive » Sun Apr 21, 2024 8:05 pm

gerryh wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:07 pm
markwilding wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 10:08 am Gerry,
You have previously posted that you don’t have particularly fast speeds.
How good is your viewing on the firestick with those speeds?
Did a check about 1 hour ago.
Firestick shows a speed of 40.15Mbps.
Watched the Chinese F1, with fast forwarding, OK.
Sometimes get lower speeds and buffering and often get a "something gone wrong" message after a lot of buffering.
But don't have any choice for watching TV other than a 4G connection now that i907 has ended.
Cheers
Gerry
We use Hispasat for tv.Fast but high ping so no good for gaming. 35 euros a month.50 or 100 meg a month. Support from our supplier ( Eurona) is diabolical. A month on we are still waiting for “when” they are coming to do a free upgrade. 15 minutes is a long time to wait for a call centre rep……free install. We get occasional buffering and the down rate does get throttled above a certain usage. But apparently is still fast enough for hd tv.
I enjoyed the F1 this morning. Shame it didnt rain……..

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5928
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Wicksey » Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:49 pm

Wicksey wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 2:45 pm Also slightly off topic, I have been trying to install the smartproxydns into the Firestick without any luck.
https://support.smartdnsproxy.com/artic ... -dns-proxy
I have followed the instructions to use ipconfig to obtain my router IP address and used the default gateway, substituting the final figure for 70. It does come up, greyed out, on the Firestick as I follow the step by step instructions as well.
I've tried allsorts but it just ends up saying no connection when I get to the end of the instructions.

Edit: I had one more go and for some reason it has now worked, not sure how or why :roll: :lol:
I think it only worked at home as I have the DNS in my router. Now that I am not at home I have tried it out and although the home pages all load, the programmes won't play as it says I am not in the UK. The DNS doesn't seem to have registered.

snorbs
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:10 pm
Location: Sotogrande area

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby snorbs » Fri Apr 26, 2024 4:26 am

My EPG shows Spanish tv rather than UK.
Is it possible to change this without changing my amazon shopping preferences to GBP and amazon.co.uk rather than amazon.es?
I have Uk apps installed on the firestick using smartdns-

Supersue
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 12:49 pm
Location: Granada Poniente

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Supersue » Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:03 am

On a different topic anyone here subscibe to Netflix Spain?

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16112
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby El Cid » Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:54 am

Yes, I do occasionally, usually a month at a time.

Sid

Supersue
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2022 12:49 pm
Location: Granada Poniente

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby Supersue » Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:17 am

Hi Sid, do you get a different selection of movies etc. from Netflix UK. Can't seem to get an answer when going to Google re language etc. for us expats.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16112
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Channel 4 added to EPG on Firestick

Postby El Cid » Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:40 am

Yes, I think it is different, but it has all the stuff I want. I think the Spanish site just has some extra Spanish content.

Sid


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests