Fibre optic installation.

Information and help in the IT field of computers, internet, ISP's, mobile and fixed line telephones plus satellite TV systems.
User avatar
gerryh
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 8071
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 6:17 pm
Location: Cajiz, Malaga

Fibre optic installation.

Postby gerryh » Tue May 07, 2024 12:12 pm

I believe that in the campo fibre optic lines are installed above ground, often using, existing wooden telephone line posts.
My local village has recently had fibre optic installed.
I can see the posts about 250 metres away from my house.
Heard that a group of houses downhill from me might be getting fibre optic, if so probably only about 100 metres away.
What do you think are my chances of getting a line to my house?
Additional posts would have to be installed, who pays for them?
Cheers
Gerry
Gerry Harris

User avatar
Wicksey
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 5966
Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 1:21 pm
Location: Axarquia coast

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby Wicksey » Tue May 07, 2024 2:12 pm

Many moons ago when we had our first house built there was a phone line coming up the hill which stopped a hundred or so metres away. We had telefonica out but they said we'd have to pay for the line and another pole. I can't remember how much they quoted but I do remember it was a lot and too much for us. We eventually got a radio phone which worked fine (long before the days of internet in the campo and mobile phone coverage most places). So I guess you would have to pay if you wanted installation to your house.

casita-bonita
Resident
Posts: 1219
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Sayalonga,

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby casita-bonita » Tue May 07, 2024 2:44 pm

gerryh wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 12:12 pm I believe that in the campo fibre optic lines are installed above ground, often using, existing wooden telephone line posts.
My local village has recently had fibre optic installed.
I can see the posts about 250 metres away from my house.
Heard that a group of houses downhill from me might be getting fibre optic, if so probably only about 100 metres away.
What do you think are my chances of getting a line to my house?
Additional posts would have to be installed, who pays for them?
Cheers
Gerry
Frustrating innit.. There is 1gb fibre 750 meters up the track from our place. Unlikely, unless sufficient bribe is offered to get it to us. Then i think do i really need 1gb. Our current 40mg wimax streams 4ktv adequately and the actual installation is neat and minimal due to the fact that cables were installed before we had an extension built. New fibre would be real messy to get into our living room where the router currently resides. Also I'm sure wimax is capable of somewhat higher speeds.

Still 1gb, in the campo.....,. Major bragging rights...
Regards

Bob

Lyric
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 12:36 pm
Location: Torrox Campo

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby Lyric » Tue May 07, 2024 6:29 pm

We have a pole right outside, and would be land-line capable except 'no more numbers' However a few months ago the campo network was wired for 600mg. Strangely we have not had the expected mither from the provider, it might as well not be there.

telboy
Resident
Posts: 846
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 2:40 pm
Location: Fuentes de Cesna/Granada Province

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby telboy » Fri May 10, 2024 9:36 am

Nice to be back!

Thanks to the moderators and admin for sorting for sorting out the ‘log-in’ problem.👍😀

Our village Fuentes de Cesna had fibre optic installed about two years ago. We are on the edge of village literally about 100m from the last house that was included in the installation. At the time we asked one of the engineers if we could be included but he said ‘no’ as we weren’t officially part of the village boundary. He also said that any properties beyond 500m Fibre Optic Hub are also excluded. Sods law the hub is at the opposite end of the village.☹️

Cheers Terry

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4540
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby olive » Fri May 10, 2024 2:54 pm

Hello Terry, welcome back.

Have you considered Hispasat so long as your property isnt served by copper. Their standard offering is now 200 meg down , free instal and 35 euros a month. Huge ping makes it no good for gam8ng. Havent tried Skype but streams TV. Router is dns programmable too. And gives a great wifi signal.

El Cid
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 16148
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 10:42 pm
Location: La Herradura, Costa Tropical, Granada

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby El Cid » Fri May 10, 2024 5:24 pm

Telboy, usually a limitation of distance from the hub implies that the service is not "full fibre" but a copper connection to a fibre hub which does not give full 1gb/s speeds. That requires a direct fibre connection to the house.

Gerry, We are in the Campo about 2km from the nearest village and our connection is via the existing poles which carry the old copper phone wires. As the poles are on our property, it wasn't a problem. I would expect high charges to add additional poles. If what you now have meets your needs I guess you will probably stick with it.

casita-bonita, when you have a 1gb fibre connection, you don't really have to worry too much about the router location as you will get good WiFi almost anywhere in the house. It's only a problem if you need a wired Internet connection for a particular device, but even then powerline extenders or wireless access points will do the trick.

Sid

casita-bonita
Resident
Posts: 1219
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: Sayalonga,

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby casita-bonita » Fri May 10, 2024 8:10 pm

El Cid wrote: Fri May 10, 2024 5:24 pm Telboy, usually a limitation of distance from the hub implies that the service is not "full fibre" but a copper connection to a fibre hub which does not give full 1gb/s speeds. That requires a direct fibre connection to the house.

Gerry, We are in the Campo about 2km from the nearest village and our connection is via the existing poles which carry the old copper phone wires. As the poles are on our property, it wasn't a problem. I would expect high charges to add additional poles. If what you now have meets your needs I guess you will probably stick with it.

casita-bonita, when you have a 1gb fibre connection, you don't really have to worry too much about the router location as you will get good WiFi almost anywhere in the house. It's only a problem if you need a wired Internet connection for a particular device, but even then powerline extenders or wireless access points will do the trick.

Sid
Hi Sid.. Pie in the sky for now. Don't see why a 1gb fibre connection coming into the house would improve my WIFI coverage though. That of itself isn't an issue as i have a few extenders scattered around the house that provide (almost) complete coverage. Couple of tricky locations outside that I can't get connection, eg in my deposito, and the pool pump.

I do still have a couple of devices that need wired connection to the router. One, the
'landline' phone isn't a major problem. The other, my home cinema amp would require a nearby extender that had an RJ45 connector. Again not an insurmountable problem I guess.

So I could cope with moving my router upstairs to a bedroom. But right now it doesnt look like it's an issue that I'm going to have to contend with...
Regards

Bob

User avatar
spanish_lad
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Alhaurin el Grande since 99, cartama campo since 2022

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby spanish_lad » Sun Jun 09, 2024 11:16 am

We are the same, both with electric and fibre - it is 100m away. The last house on the asphalt has both, but we cant get either.

We are using conred at the moment (and have done for years, in 3 different houses), its only "upto 100mb" and we rarely get more than 40mb.

We have thought about starlink, but as Conred works for what we need, theres no advantage. We´ve got the tv streaming every day, our phones on wifi, my pc etc etc.
Alhaurin el Grande since 99, working at the airport since 2011.

olive
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 4540
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 7:13 pm
Location: Poniente, Granada

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby olive » Sun Jun 09, 2024 8:55 pm

spanish_lad wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 11:16 am We are the same, both with electric and fibre - it is 100m away. The last house on the asphalt has both, but we cant get either.

We are using conred at the moment (and have done for years, in 3 different houses), its only "upto 100mb" and we rarely get more than 40mb.

We have thought about starlink, but as Conred works for what we need, theres no advantage. We´ve got the tv streaming every day, our phones on wifi, my pc etc etc.
Never ha of Conred but google is my friend. Might not be appropriate for you but Hispasat is supported by the Spanish gov. 35 euros month ith free instal and no contract. Was “100 meg” but recently upgraded to 200 by aiming at a different Satellite. A friend told me Hispasat isnas good as the Starlink tech. It is unlimited but is throttled after so much usage in a month. It streams tv alright but does buffer occasionally. Just done a speed test 77 and 12 up. Ping is 998. No good for gaming but better in my view than 4G if you are a distance from the transmitter

Evaready
Andalucia.com Amigo
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:58 am

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby Evaready » Tue Jun 11, 2024 4:15 pm

We got Starlink a couple of weeks ago (when it was on special offer) and I must say I am generally very impressed. Apart from needing the roof arm to put it on the roof (another Euros 92 thanks) and also an ethernet connector (again more money to Mr Musk) to put on a mesh system- we have very thick walls- we are now getting speeds of up to 250 Mbps and it is really pretty stable. There is a 30 day money back "guarantee" if it doesn't work for you- until we could get it on the roof it was on a table in the garden and I really didn't think it would work because we have a lot of trees and a hill to our north (which is roughly where the dish will end up facing), but it does seem to be doing a good job (and was even on a table in the garden) and continues to work through thunderstorms, unlike Eurona which is useless. Also the latency is really good- between 30 and 60 ms- which is way better than Eurona and makes video calls a lot easier. The cost for the "advanced" (ie in theory you get priority over others on the basic package) is Euros 49 pm, unlimited, but the basic package is cheaper than that. I use it for work so need something reliable- so I have 2 4G routers as well with different sim providers because if Movistar goes down Orange usually works and vice versa- but since installing Starlink haven't needed them at all! You can also change the DNS easily on the app.

Evaready

User avatar
spanish_lad
Andalucia Guru
Posts: 6230
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:13 pm
Location: Alhaurin el Grande since 99, cartama campo since 2022

Re: Fibre optic installation.

Postby spanish_lad » Sun Jun 16, 2024 2:40 pm

olive wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 8:55 pm
spanish_lad wrote: Sun Jun 09, 2024 11:16 am We are the same, both with electric and fibre - it is 100m away. The last house on the asphalt has both, but we cant get either.

We are using conred at the moment (and have done for years, in 3 different houses), its only "upto 100mb" and we rarely get more than 40mb.

We have thought about starlink, but as Conred works for what we need, theres no advantage. We´ve got the tv streaming every day, our phones on wifi, my pc etc etc.
Never ha of Conred but google is my friend. Might not be appropriate for you but Hispasat is supported by the Spanish gov. 35 euros month ith free instal and no contract. Was “100 meg” but recently upgraded to 200 by aiming at a different Satellite. A friend told me Hispasat isnas good as the Starlink tech. It is unlimited but is throttled after so much usage in a month. It streams tv alright but does buffer occasionally. Just done a speed test 77 and 12 up. Ping is 998. No good for gaming but better in my view than 4G if you are a distance from the transmitter
That sounds very interesting olive, except the ping seems rather high? Like you say, it's ok for most things except gaming. I do like to put my console on now and then, and it seems fine on the +/- 40mb that we get, I might test the ping/speed later to see what it is on a Sunday afternoon when there's probably more people using it
Alhaurin el Grande since 99, working at the airport since 2011.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests